Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Papua New Guinea Patrol Reports
MSS 0215  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (91.70 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Access
  • Acquisition Information
  • Preferred Citation
  • Publication Rights
  • Historical Background
  • Scope and Content of Collection
  • Indexing Terms

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Papua New Guinea Patrol Reports,
    Date (inclusive): 1912 - 1976
    Extent: 10.80 linear feet (17 card file boxes)
    Abstract: Microfiche of government patrol reports for various provinces in Papua New Guinea. Most of the reports were written after 1945 and prior to Papua New Guinea's independence in 1975. Provinces represented in the collection include: Central Province, North Solomons Province (Bougainville), Chimbu Province (Simbu), Eastern Highlands Province, East New Britain Province, West New Britain Province, East Sepik Province, West Sepik Province, Gulf Province, Madang Province, Manus Province, Milne Bay Province, Morobe Province, New Ireland Province, Northern Province, Southern Highlands Province, Western Province, and the Western Highlands and Enga. There is a supplementary index to the collection, which provides greater description of each patrol report and access to the patrol reports by way of the writer's name and the name of the area patrolled.
    Repository: University of California, San Diego. Geisel Library. Mandeville Special Collections Library.
    La Jolla, California 92093-0175
    Collection number: MSS 0215
    Language of Material: Collection materials in English


    Before use, patrons must complete and submit an "Information Form for Users."

    Acquisition Information

    Not Available

    Preferred Citation

    Papua New Guinea Patrol Reports, MSS 0215. Mandeville Special Collections Library, UCSD.

    Publication Rights

    Publication rights are held by the creator of the collection.

    Historical Background

    The microfiche was filmed by the National Archives of Papua New Guinea, with support from the University of California, San Diego. The microfiche and this guide are the results of a cooperative project between the National Archives of Papua New Guinea, and the Melanesian Studies Resource Center (MSRC) at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD).
    The project has several objectives. The foremost of these is to preserve all of the patrol reports held in the National Archives of PNG, by making microfiche copies of them. The project's second aim is to create indexing to the reports, providing access by points such as areas patrolled and patrol officers. The third goal is to make the patrol reports accessible to scholars outside of Papua New Guinea.

    Scope and Content of Collection

    Microfiche patrol reports for various provinces in Papua New Guinea. The microfiche are arranged alphabetically by name of the province, then by name of the sub-province, and then chronologically by date of the report. Each series begins with a microfiche contents list.
    May 2000 Accession
    Patrol reports for Western Highlands and Enga (1938-1975) were filmed as a group before Enga was established as a separate province.

    Indexing Terms

    The following terms have been used to index the description of this collection in the library's online public access catalog.


    Papua New Guinea -- History -- Sources
    Papua New Guinea -- Discovery and exploration -- Sources
    Papua New Guinea -- Politics and government -- To 1975 -- Sources
    Central Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Bougainville Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Chimbu Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Eastern Highlands Province (Papua New Guinea)
    East New Britain Province (Papua New Guinea)
    West New Britain Province (Papua New Guinea)
    East Sepik Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Gulf Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Madang Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Manus Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Milne Bay Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Morobe Province (Papua New Guinea)
    New Ireland Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Northern Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Southern Highlands Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Western Province (Papua New Guinea)
    West Sepik Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Western Highlands Province (Papua New Guinea)
    Enga Province (Papua New Guinea)


    National Archives of Papua New Guinea