Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Papua New Guinea Patrol Reports
MSS 0215  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (92.09 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
Microfiche of government patrol reports for various provinces in Papua New Guinea. Most of the reports were written after 1945 and prior to Papua New Guinea's independence in 1975. Provinces represented in the collection include: Central Province, North Solomons Province (Bougainville), Chimbu Province (Simbu), Eastern Highlands Province, East New Britain Province, West New Britain Province, East Sepik Province, West Sepik Province, Gulf Province, Madang Province, Manus Province, Milne Bay Province, Morobe Province, New Ireland Province, Northern Province, Southern Highlands Province, Western Province, and the Western Highlands and Enga. There is a supplementary index to the collection, which provides greater description of each patrol report and access to the patrol reports by way of the writer's name and the name of the area patrolled.
The microfiche was filmed by the National Archives of Papua New Guinea, with support from the University of California, San Diego. The microfiche and this guide are the results of a cooperative project between the National Archives of Papua New Guinea, and the Melanesian Studies Resource Center (MSRC) at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD).
10.8 Linear feet (17 card file boxes)
Publication rights are held by the creator of the collection.