Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Finding Aid for the Paul A. Marquardt Collection of Music for Silent Films
PASC-M 4  
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (81.96 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Details
Table of contents What's This?
  • Descriptive Summary
  • Administrative Information
  • Access Points
  • Scope and Content

  • Descriptive Summary

    Title: Paul A. Marquardt Collection of Music for Silent Films
    Collection number: PASC-M 4
    Origination: Marquardt, P. A. (Paul A.)
    Extent: 8 boxes.
    Repository: University of California, Los Angeles. UCLA Library Special Collections
    Los Angeles, California 90095-1575
    Shelf location: Held at SRLF. Please contact UCLA Library Special Collections for paging information.
    Language: English.

    Administrative Information

    Provenance/Source of Acquisition

    Gift of Mrs. Frank Dellestritto, 1975.

    Preferred Citation

    [Identification of item], Paul A. Marquardt Collection of Music for Silent Films, Collection number PASC-M 4, UCLA Library Special Collections, University of California, Los Angeles.

    Access Points

    Silent film music--Scores.

    Scope and Content

    Holographs, Ozalid masters and copies, and mimeograph copies of scores and parts of music, either composed or arranged by P.A. Marquardt, mostly for silent films. Includes Concertino for Violin and Orchestra, Melodies of Josef Strauss, A Merry Overture, Ramasan-Oriental Suite, Regimenstag-Marsch, Rondeau Brillant, Serenade, Sonata in C Minor, and The Unknown Soldier. Also includes several marches, an opera and 67 pieces of silent film music (piano part only) published by the Music Buyers Corporation.