Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Finding Aid for the Alois Reiser Collection , 1920-1950
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (55.23 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection consists of holographic sketches of orchestral, operatic, chamber and film music
Reiser was born on Apr. 6, 1887 in Prague, Czechoslovakia; studied with Antonín Dvorák at the Prague Conservatory; also took cello lessons and toured Europe; went to New York in 1905; played cello with the Pittsburgh Symphony and the New York Symphony; worked as a theater conductor in New York, 1918-29; moved to Hollywood in 1929, where he worked as a composer and conductor at film studios; compositions include the opera Gobi (1912), Concerto for cello and orchestra (1916), String quartet in E minor (1916), Little coquette (1918), From Mount Rainier (1926), Slavic rhapsody (1927), Trio in F major (1931), and Erewhon (1931); he died on Apr. 4, 1977 in Los Angeles.
20 boxes (10 linear ft.)
Copyright has not been assigned to the Performing Arts Special Collections. All requests for permission to publish or quote from manuscripts must be submitted in writing to Performing Arts Special Collections Librarian. Permission for publication is given on behalf of Performing Arts Special Collections as the owner of the physical items and is not intended to include or imply permission of the copyright holder(s), which must also be obtained.
COLLECTION STORED OFF-SITE AT SRLF: Advance notice required for access.