Jump to Content

Collection Guide
Collection Title:
Collection Number:
Get Items:
Guide to the Robert M. Petersen Papers MS.337
View entire collection guide What's This?
PDF (92.42 Kb) HTML
Search this collection
Collection Overview
Table of contents What's This?
This collection consists of poetry, prose, and lyrics written by Robert M. "Bobby" Petersen, along with some supporting material: notes, correspondence, photographs, and ephemera.
Robert McLane Petersen (1936-1987) was a poet best known for the four lyrics he wrote for the Grateful Dead: "New Potato Caboose," "Pride of Cucamonga," "Unbroken Chain," and "Revolutionary Hamstrung Blues." Born in Klamath Falls, OR, Petersen moved to Sacramento, CA, as a boy. He attended the College of San Mateo, where he became friends with Phil Lesh, and was an active participant in the Palo Alto/peninsula post-Beat bohemian scene in which the Grateful Dead emerged. He married Cecilia Jane Adams in 1962; they had one child, Didrik, born in 1964.
0.75 Linear feet 2 boxes
Property rights reside with the University of California. Literary rights are retained by Didrik Petersen and administered by Alan Trist. For permission to quote, publish, or reproduce the material, please contact the Grateful Dead Archivist.
The collection is open for research.